top of page
Care Certificate (Standards 1 to 15)

Care Certificate (Standards 1 to 15)

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of 15 standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It’s made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are ‘new to care’ and should form part of a robust induction programme.

  • Details

    The Care Certificate was developed jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health.

    The care certificate 15 standards:

    • Understand your role
    • Your personal development
    • Duty of care
    • Equality and diversity
    • Work in a person centred way
    • Communication
    • Privacy and dignity
    • Fluids and nutrition
    • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
    • Safeguarding adults
    • Safeguarding children
    • Basic life support
    • Health and safety
    • Handling information
    • Infection prevention and control

    The Care Quality Commission will expect that appropriate staff who are new to services which they regulate will achieve the competences required by the Care Certificate as part of their induction.


Related Courses