top of page
Care Certificate Standard Number 10 – Safeguarding Adults

Care Certificate Standard Number 10 – Safeguarding Adults

This Care Certificate Standard 10 – Safeguarding Adults online course will give an overview of safeguarding and the role health and social care workers play in working with and identifying vulnerable adults.


Duration: 1 Hour     CPD Points: 1

  • Objectives

    At the end of this course, the learner will be able to: 

    • Describe the term safeguarding
    • Understand what causes an adult to be at risk for abuse
    • Describe the different types of abuse that effects adults
    • Understand the terms radicalisation and extremism
    • Describe how you can prevent abuse by promoting well-being and dignity
    • Understand how you can work in a person-centred and empowering way with adults
    • Describe how to raise concerns when abuse is suspected
    • Understand key legislation related to safeguarding adults
  • Course Content

    Unit 1

    • Safeguarding Adults – Course Introduction
    • Introduction
    • Care Act 2014
    • Assumptions and Misunderstandings
    • Duty of Care 
    • Your Role
    • Observational Skills
    • Knowledge Check – Observational Skills
    • Person-Centred Care
    • Practicing Person-Centred Care
    • Steps of Person-Centred Care

    Unit 2

    • Types of Abuse
    • Being Alert
    • Signs of Physical Abuse
    • Signs of Domestic Abuse
    • Complexities of Domestic Abuse
    • Signs of Sexual Abuse
    • Signs of Psychological or Emotional Abuse
    • Signs Financial Abuse
    • Complexities of Financial Abuse
    • Signs of Modern Slavery
    • Discriminatory Abuse
    • Signs of Organisational Abuse
    • Neglect or Acts of Omission
    • Signs of Self-Neglect

    Unit 3

    • Extremism and Radicalisation
    • Signs of Radicalisation
    • Extremism
    • Legislation, Policy, and Procedures
    • Six Principles
    • Other Legislation
    • Safeguarding Adults Boards
    • LSAB Core Duties
    • Policy and Procedure Documents
    • Organisations who Help
    • Taking Action
    • When to Report a Concern
    • Who to Notify
    • When Someone Turns to you
    • Record Keeping
  • Certification

    On successful completion of the quiz, you will be awarded a CPD accredited Care Certificate Standard 10 – Safeguarding Adults Course free course certificate.


Related Courses