top of page
Care Certificate Standard 9 – Mental Health Awareness

Care Certificate Standard 9 – Mental Health Awareness

This Care Certificate Standard 9 Mental Health Conditions Online Course  will give an overview of mental health conditions and their symptoms and treatment for healthcare professionals. The goal is to raise awareness for healthcare workers who may encounter patients with a mental illness.


Duration 1 Hour     CPD Points: 1

  • Objectives

    At the end of this course, the learner will be able to:

    • Describe common mental health conditions
    • Describe how healthcare staff can support people with mental health conditions
    • Understand how a positive attitude and including individuals in their own care is important for promoting positive mental health
    • Understand the importance of early detection of mental health conditions
    • Explain adaptations to care to support those with mental health conditions
  • Course Content

    Unit 1

    • Course Introduction – Care Certificate Standard 9 Mental Health Conditions
    • Your Role in Mental health Awareness
    • Self – Assessment – Mental Health
    • Depression
    • Types of Depression
    • Depression Symptoms and treatment
    • Anxiety Disorders and Panic Attacks
    • Anxiety and Mental Illness
    • Anxiety Symptoms and Treatment
    • Knowledge Check – Anxiety and Panic Attacks
    • Phobias
    • Knowledge Check – Phobias
    • Post – Traumatic Stress Disorder
    • Psychosis
    • Personality Disorders
    • Personality Disorders Symptoms and Treatment
    • Cluster B Disorders
    • The Mental Capacity Act
    • Five Principles of the MCA
    • Best Interests Decision
    • Deprivation of Liberty
    • Mental Health Act
    • Policies and Guidance
  • Certification

    On successful completion of the quiz, you will be awarded a CPD accredited Care Certificate Standard 9 – Awareness of Mental Health Course free course certificate.


Related Courses